OPERATION: GET SKINNY (update 4) Mission Complete!

20 August 2012 – Total weight lost: 37lbs Current weight: 9st 9lbs (61.2kg or 135lbs)

In 5 days I am getting married. I am full of nerves and excitment. A year ago I was 12st 4lbs (That’s about 78 Kg or 172 lbs). I wasn’t happy with my weight. I wanted to do something about it, I wanted to be slim on my wedding day so I started OPERATION: GET SKINNY FOR THE WEDDING. I joined MyFitnessPal and wrote a weekly blog to track my progress. I set my goal weight as 11st (70 kg or 154 lbs) but I have a very bad diet and a food phobia so I didn’t think it was possible to get down to 11st. The only thing I knew I could do was cut down on potion sizes, count the calories & stick to my limit for that day.

On October 17th I did it. I passed my weight loss goal of 11 st. In 8 weeks I had lost 19 lbs. I set myself a new goal, a harder goal, something that would be a real challenge and that was to reach my “perfect” BMI. The healthy range for BMI is between 18.5 to 24.9 and the “perfect” BMI would be 21.7 as it’s bang in the middle of 18.5 and 24.9. This gave me the goal weight of 10st 3lbs (64.9kg or 143 lbs).

It was a lot harder than I thought. I put on weight over Christmas and there were times when I felt like the weight was never going to shift. I went to the gym, I gave up on the gym. I cut out treats and just stuck to what I knew best, calore counting. I logged in every day and logged everything I consumed. Then 31 weeks into my weight loss journey I did it. I reached my “perfect” BMI, but where to go from here? I didn’t need to lose weight anymore I just had to stay this weight until the wedding, but the wedding was still 5 months away.

Maintaining weight was my new goal. I made the mistake at first of setting my daily calorie goal too high and I started to put weight back on. So started dieting again to get back to 10st 3lbs. 37 weeks into my weight loss journey I had my suit fitted for the wedding. I was 10st 3lbs. I knew I couldn’t put on any more weight and I found that 1500 calories a day was perfect for maintaining.

However I had got into the habit of always being slightly under my calorie goal for the day. So instead of 1500 calories I would consume something around 1200. I liked that the weight was still coming off. I had failed at my new goal of maintaining. I had promised myself to remain at 10st 3lbs until my wedding on 25th August 2012, but with the wedding only 5 days away I am now 9st 9lbs. I am 8lbs lighter than what I intended to be, so for the rest of this week I am going to try and put some weight back on until my wedding day. I hope my suit still fits.

So I guess this is it. The end of OPERATION: GET SKINNY FOR THE WEDDING. After the wedding I will be making a fresh start. However this time I am not going to take things so seriously. I am still going to weigh myself once a week, but not log everything I eat. Not to obsess about calories, but to know when to stop. I want to be able to get to 10st / 140lbs / 63.5kg and stay there.

I have new account on MyFitnessPal, with a new blog and a new goal, and that’s to stay slim, and not put all the weight I lost back on again. Because I am… Too Fit to Quit!

Leave a Reply

