36 things about being Thirty Six

I turned 36 last month. These are 36 things I have noticed about being 36.

  1. Nothing really changes.
  2. I wonder how people much younger than me have managed to acheive so much.
  3. I’ve been on twitter for 3 years.
  4. Losing weight isn’t as easy as it once was.
  5. BBC Radio One is not for me.
  6. It’s harder to keep a willing suspension of disbelief when watching films and TV.
  7. Little things annoy me.
  8. Years don’t feel that long.
  9. My handwriting is still awful.
  10. Teenagers think you are old.
  11. Many people my age have children.
  12. Most of my clothes are over 10 years old, some are even 20.
  13. I have written an online blog in some form or other for 13 years.
  14. Music doesn’t excite me like it once did.
  15. I’m sure some of the girls I went to school with are now grandparents.
  16. I still feel like I am 16.
  17. Having to accept that I’m never going to be a spy/astronaut/ninja/pirate/robot.
  18. Realising that 18 is half my age.
  19. A lot of people expect you to act your age.
  20. I am still useless at spelling & maths.
  21. Bands I consider to be fairly new bands have all been going for more than 5 years.
  22. Things don’t impress me much.
  23. If I was an american I would old enough to be their president.
  24. My diet hasn’t changed.
  25. I am older than Tom Hardy, Zachary Quinto, & Michael Fassbender.
  26. I still look like I am 26.
  27. My short term memory is awful.
  28. I might be immortal.
  29. I am always tired.
  30. When I was 30 I tried to make a mental effort to grow up.
  31. When I was 31 I realised that I was never really going to grow up.
  32. I’m going grey.
  33. Some of the guys I went to school with have gone bald.
  34. I’m old enough to be Justin Bieber’s & Miley Cyrus’s dad.
  35. Being young at heart is better than being young.
  36. Things are always changing.
4 thoughts on “36 things about being Thirty Six

  1. “Being young at heart is better than being young” and “I still feel like I am 16”.

    Exactly how I feel, Russ.

    I look at all my friends getting married, having kids, etc etc back in the UK and I wonder whether or not my life in Japan has somehow retarded to journey to “adulthood”. But then, at the same time I don’t want to be “grown up”.

  2. Pingback: Some time later… | What's with today, today?

Leave a Reply

